Black Poetry Day

 

BLACK POETRY DAY
 
Today is the birth anniversary of the first published African-American poet, Jupiter Hammon, who was born into slavery in 1711, probably on Long Island.
 
Consequently, October 17 is also Black Poetry Day.
This is the poet and poem I choose to celebrate today.
 
 
I, Too
 
I, too, sing America.
I am the darker brother.
They send me to eat in the kitchen
When company comes,
But I laugh,
And eat well,
And grow strong.
Tomorrow,
I’ll be at the table
When company comes.
Nobody’ll dare
Say to me,
"Eat in the kitchen,"
Then.
Besides,
They’ll see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed–
I, too, am America.
— Langston Hughes
 
 
 Langston Hughes  art was firmly rooted in race pride and race feeling even as he cherished his freedom as an artist. He was both nationalist and cosmopolitan. As a radical democrat, he believed that art should be accessible to as many people as possible. He could sometimes be bitter, but his art is generally suffused by a keen sense of the ideal and by a profound love of humanity, especially black Americans. He was perhaps the most original of African American poets and, in the breadth and variety of his work, assuredly the most representative of African American writers.
 


Posted on October 17, 2005, in Books. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

