SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION

SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION

 

 
I have just finished watching The Shawshank Redemption for the 80th time.
 
Every time I watch this movie I am drained yet positively inspired. Every time I watch this movie I feel empowered and strengthened. Every time I watch this movie, I feel a connection between the main characters of this story and my own heart.
 
We’ve all been in prison in one way or another. Some people are behind steel bars and some people are behind invisible bars but do the bars make us or do they break us? In other words, is it what happens to us or what we do with what happens to us that matters?
 
Andy Dufrane is sent to Shawshank for a crime he didn’t commit. While there he suffers through the ins and outs of prison life and yet Andy learns to make the very best of it. He learns how to give out hope even if it is not received. He gives out hope because he still wants to feel normal…to feel human…to feel alive. He knows in the back of his soul that hope is the best of things and through hope, anything is possible.
 
I didnt see this movie when it first came out, but my mother told me 12 years ago that I needed to see this movie, and I watched it on cable and I was absolutely changed from that moment. You could say it was formulaic, you could say it was too long,but it still does not diminish the powerful impact that this movie so freely offers. If you don’t walk away from this movie feeling better about life, maybe you have given up hope…maybe you’re still confined in a prison of your own making.
 
 
Here’s hoping you break free.
 
 
 
This ending is my favorite part of the movie
 

 

Posted on December 2, 2007, in Entertainment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I haven’t seen the movie in its entirety but I know TNT usually airs it quite frequently if I remember. I might just one of these days when it is on sit for a bit and watch. I am willing to give anything a try.  I can tell you feel this movie by the quotes and the pictures you have dedicated to it.  See ya around in spaces.

  2. I haven’t seen the movie in its entirety but I know TNT usually airs it quite frequently if I remember. I might just one of these days when it is on sit for a bit and watch. I am willing to give anything a try.  I can tell you feel this movie by the quotes and the pictures you have dedicated to it.  See ya around in spaces.

  3. I saw this movie – in the movie, if memory serves me, then on DVD.  I didn’t quite get a thrill from it.  As you said we might say, it was verrrrry long.  I love movies, so, I am going to have to sit down with this one and watch it a few times until it sinks in.  80 times??!!  That’s about how many times I’ve watched Bladerunner.  Can’t get enough and think that it’s one of the best movies ever made.  Some of my friends watch it and go "Enhhh".  I guess to each his/her own.  Your zeal has made want to see Shawshank as you have.  Peace.

Leave a Reply

