LOVE JONES

 

LOVE JONES

Years ago a friend of mine asked me if I could have one movie on DVD what would it be?

I told him "Love Jones"

I saw it in theatres and it’s been on my mind since.

It was refreshing to see a movie where young african-americans are intelligent and know how to enjoy themselves by forming relationship with their loved ones and their friends.

Nia Long and Larenz Tate play these characters with incredible intelligence. They love, break up, contemplate, miss, and reconcile with each other.

"Love Jones" trascends racial boundaries and the cast was great!!

And for anyone who’s ever been in a relationship that had a problem, this movie illustrates the fact that you are not alone; and that problems can be overcome. The cinematography has an edge that gives the film a raw, gritty feel that’s refreshing in an era of Hollywood’s highly-polished, extra glossy look.

Don’t sleep on the soundtrack either, it’s hot!

This is a clip of my favorite scene called "Brotha To the Night". The band playing in the backround is simply awsome.

Posted on January 20, 2008, in Entertainment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I remember I was in freshmen year in school when this movie came out, I never saw it in the theaters and actually never seen the whole movie except for bits and pieces here and there.  As for the soundtrack, that I do have and to me it is the best soundtrack I’ve heard ever. I copied the CD into my iTunes playlist on my iMac and mostly all the tracks get heavily played whenever I’m playing music on my computer, in particular Dionne Farris "hopeless" and Groove Theory’s "Never Enough" among others. I remember when I was a member of Blackplanet in the late 90s, every brother on there was nicknaming themselves "brother to the night" or some variation playing homage to the impact of this film on black audiences. Currently listening to "Rush Over"-Me’shell N’degeocello

  2. I agree with your analysis of the movie. I remember back then breaking up with the man I thought was the love of my life. Yet hoping it wasn’t over even though I hated and loved my ex at the same time. I look back now and realized I loved, lost and maintain a friend to this day. The movie is a tribute to BLACK LOVE. The sound track is the BOMB.

  3. I saw the movie at the theater on a Friday night, alone, teary-eyed, then, went back with a friend on Saturday for a repeat, tears and all.  The soundtrack is off the hissy.  Thanks for the throwback.  Peace.

  4. This movie will always be my favorite! I also saw at the theater. After all these years if someone asks me what is my favorite movie, I will tell them Love Jones. I have watched it so many times that I know the lines. I can also recite the "Brother To The Night" poem. I have the tape in my movie collection, and I still watch it. I need to get it on DVD. I love the mood of the movie, the friendships, the relationship between Darious and Nina. I really love the poetry. It is truly a good classic that I will never get tired of.:)

  5. This movie will always be my favorite! I also saw at the theater. After all these years if someone asks me what is my favorite movie, I will tell them Love Jones. I have watched it so many times that I know the lines. I can also recite the "Brother To The Night" poem. I have the tape in my movie collection, and I still watch it. I need to get it on DVD. I love the mood of the movie, the friendships, the relationship between Darious and Nina. I really love the poetry. It is truly a good classic that I will never get tired of.:)

  6.  
    Thanks for your comments everyone.
     
    I truly thought I was the only one touched by this movie.
     
    Thanks for reminding me that I was not!!
     
    peace
    moe

Leave a Reply

