Teena Marie

Teena Marie has passed away at the age of 54.

She was an Grammy Award-nominated singer–songwriter–producer. Marie, nicknamed Lady Tee, (sometimes spelled Lady T), was a protegée of late funk legend Rick James, and was notable as one of the few successful white performers of R&B. She played rhythm guitar, keyboards and congas. She also wrote, produced, sang and arranged virtually all of her songs.

I had the honor of seeing her in concert years ago. The woman was an amazing musician and will be dearly missed.

RIP Teena Marie

Posted on December 27, 2010, in In Memoriam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. stop it man…this can’t be…

  2. You know I wouldn’t joke about something like this. Apparently her daughter found her today. Roland Martin and Sheila E are confirming.

    Sad day for music bro. Sad day.

  3. I know, I know, I just can’t believe it…thanks for posting as always.

  4. First time visitor… Teena was one of my favorite singers. It took several albums before I knew she was not a Black woman. Super soulful!

  5. Hello Tom, Thanks for stopping by

    I remember hearing “I’m just a sucker for your love” with Rick James and thinking who is this woman? I had the same response everyone did which was “This woman is white, no way? She was original in her voice, presence and musicianship, plus she held her won with Rick James which couldn’t have been easy.

    Once again thanks for stopping by. I’ll have to check out your site as well.

    peace

Leave a Reply

